top of page
  • Writer's pictureBruno Asoka

Zaniolo the hero as AS Roma wins the UEFA Europa Conference League Final

AS Roma defeated Feyenoord 1-0 to win the inaugural UEFA Europa Conference League Final (UECL).Jose Mourinho also became the first manager to win all three of UEFA’s active club competitions.

Both clubs had a good run in the competition. Feyenoord started out strongly creating chances to score when the Italian side was pressing on a high line on the pitch. There was an early bath for Henrikh Mkhitaryan who was unable to continue due to injury and was replaced by Sergio Oliveira. Just before the hour mark, Roma went ahead courtesy of Nicolo Zaniolo who controlled the ball brilliantly with his chest before dinking it past the onrushing Justin Bijlow to make it 1-0. Roma headed into the break with the lead.

Feyenoord came out after the break with great intensity creating chances but Roma’s defense was astute. They almost got their [Feyenoord] goal, when Mancini almost scored an own-goal after deflecting a cross onto the post. The wood work came to the rescue once more for Mourinho’s men as Rui Patricio punched Tyrell Malacia’s shot onto the post.

Cyriel Dessers almost equalized but an incredible tackle from Roger Ibanez denied the striker who was through on goal. The Dutch side put more pressure but Roma was not yielding at all thanks to the defense which was solid and blocked every attack coming their way. Lorenzo Pellegrini almost put the icing on the cake but he was denied by Justin Bijlow with a couple of minutes to full time.

Jose Mourinho held on to win and lift the inaugural UECL Trophy. The victory was Roma’s first trophy after a trophy drought of 14 years. Their [AS Roma] last trophy was Coppa Italia triumph in 2008.

0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page