top of page
  • Writer's pictureBruno Asoka

Manchester City crowned Premier League Champions

Manchester City were crowned champions after a great comeback from two goals down against Aston Villa at Etihad Stadium.

The stakes were high and so was the pressure to win the title. Pep’s men trailed in the first half courtesy of the goal from Matty Cash which silenced the home fans with eight minutes to end the half. Villa had a stellar display in the half and they were composed on their defense.

City came out after the break rejuvenated with Oleksandr Zinchenko coming in place of the veteran Fernandinho in defense. Shortly later, Joao Cancelo delivered a glorious cross to Gabriel Jesus only for him to blast over from close range. Villa will eventually go ahead with their second goal after some sloppy goal kick by Ederson Moraes. Watkins found Philippe Coutinho, the former Reds, who spun away from Aymeric Laporte before finishing at the near post with the keeper rooted at the spot. Steven Gerard was delighted with how things were panning out.

Pep Guardiola did a couple of substitutions more to try and change their tactics and get something out of this game. Raheem Sterling crossed towards the back post and found Ilkay Gundogan who drove it past Olsen to half the deficit. A couple of minutes later, Rodri’s low driven shot found the bottom corner for the equalizer and made it 2-2. The Etihad roof was blown away as the home fans could not believe what’s happening before them and the belief of winning the match and title was back in their hands.

The comeback was complete as Kevin de Bruyne netted in the 81st minute to make it 3-2 and hand Manchester City the Premier League title. Manchester City has now won 6 premier league titles.

2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page